home page

Parish, City & 

County Council members 


council meetings
council minutes
Accounts 2017



Changes to Parish Wards

There is currently a review of the recommendations of the wards for this area for city councillors. It is proposed that we are joined with Bolton-le-Sands to form the ward Bolton & Slyne.

The Parish Council has discussed this and is not happy with it -we will be making objections. One of the objections is that we lose part of our identity - Hest Bank excluded from name.

On this website there is more information and plans. http://www.lgbce.org.uk/home


Mr Stewart Scothern (Chair) 21 Shady Lane, Hest Bank, LA2 6JL 822848
Mr Roland Stretch (Deputy Chair) 7 Manor Road, Slyne, LA2 6JY 824413
Miss June Cohen-Kingsley 7 Marine Drive, Hest Bank, LA2 6DZ 824201
Mr Eric Hamer 19 Peacock Crescent, Hest Bank, LA2 6EW 745426
Mr Stephen Jones 8 Sunningdale Avenue, Hest Bank, LA2 6DD 824098


Mrs Doreen Brookes 39 Coastal Road, Hest Bank, LA2 6HE 825464
e-mail - brookes.slynewithhestpc@btinternet.com


Ordinary meetings are normally held on the third Monday of each month at 7.30 p.m. in the Memorial Hall.
Members of the public are welcome to attend the first part of each meeting.
Click here for a list of dates.

Minutes of meetings

Minutes are normally available after approval at the following meeting.
Minutes of recent Parish Council meetings are available on this web site in "pdf" format.
Click here for the list of minutes.

City Council Members

Cllr. Sylvia Rogerson

The Vines 3a Peacock Lane, Hest Bank, Lancaster LA2 6EN


Cllr. Malcolm Thomas

40 Manor Lane, Slyne, Lancaster, LA2 6JE


County Council Member

Cllr. Anthony Jones

Priory House, Priory Lane, Hornby, Lancaster, LA2 8LE

015242 21200


Contact your member of Parliament David Morris here: david.morris.mp@parliament.uk

This is a link to his Parliamentary biography:  http://www.parliament.uk/biographies/david-morris/31581


To become a Parish Councillor a person must meetone of the following criteria:
i) be a registered local government elector for the parish; or
ii) their principal or only place of work in the twelve months preceding the day on which the person is nominated as a candidate have been in the parish; or
iii) have during the whole of twelve months preceding the day of nomination occupied as owner or tenant land or other premises in the Parish; or
iv) have during the whole of twelve months preceding the day of nomination resided in the Parish or within 4.8 km. (3 miles) of the Parish boundary.
The post involves regular attendance at meetings (normally held every third Monday of the month), reading reports, discussion of information and making decisions.
Also a general interest in Parish life and affairs etc. is expected.
Anyone interested can contact me or any of the Councillors for information.
Doreen Brookes (Parish Clerk Tel. 825464)

Click here for details of Councillor Allowances for 2006 (pdf format)